Announcing the 2016 Leadership Awards Winners

Independent Sector is proud to announce the recipients of the 2016 leadership awards:

2016 John W. Gardner Leadership Award
Bryan Stevenson
Founder and Executive Director
Equal Justice Initiative

2016 American Express NGen Leadership Award
Diana Nambatya Nsubuga
Uganda Country Manager
Global Health Corps

Bryan Stevenson will be recognized for his transformative leadership in criminal justice and as a champion for those denied fair and just treatment under the law. He founded the Alabama-based nonprofit, Equal Justice Initiative, in 1989 to provide legal services to low-income defendants and prisoners who have been wrongly convicted, denied effective representation, or whose trials have been marked by racial bias or prosecutorial misconduct.

Diana Nambatya Nsubuga will be recognized for her leadership at Global Health Corps, where she runs their operations in Uganda by recruiting, training, and supporting leaders to implement family planning programs and reproductive health services. Through her advocacy work, she was able to ensure that women in her community are now about six times more likely to use skilled attendance – trained health professionals – when giving birth, leading to more healthier pregnancies and reduced maternal deaths.

Both awards will be formally presented on November 18 at the Independent Sector Conference in Washington, D.C.

More info:

Types: Blog
Global Topics: Leadership Development, Upswell